HUNGER

Hunger’s Official Site

First blog post, let’s start on a high, shall we?

Let’s talk about the amazing band Hunger.

Hunger is an Austrian band which consists of three members – the charismatic lead vocalist – Lucas Fendrich, the insanely talented guitarist – Daniel Rumpel, and of course the bassist/keyboard player – Johannes Herbst, who seems to have an infinite amount of energy.

Although they haven’t given us much of a peak into what’s in store for the future, the one thing that I’m confident about is their success. With catchy hooks and an dramatic presence, I haven’t heard anything quite like this in a long time, and that excites me and countless other people who are patiently waiting for the release of their debut album.

Although I will admit to not knowing about this band for very long (about 24 hours now), it’s easy to say that I’ve become a fast fan, and that’s all thanks to them being the support act for a band called Against The Current for their European tour – where I caught them in Cardiff, Wales.

When these three – and their amazing live drummer Samuel Del Real – came onto stage, I don’t think many people knew what to expect, but when we all heard the unique sound that these guys produce, I think it’s safe to say we were sold. Not only did they have such a large stage presence for the four of them, but they also had an insane amount of crowd interaction – something which doesn’t always come easy, even for more established bands. They seamlessly transitioned from song to song, leaving enough space to talk to the audience but not leave them bored of waiting.

At one point Fendrich walked back off stage into the wings, leaving the instrumental combo to build up the tension and suspense until he returned – with a jumper in hand to throw into the crowd, and a new wave of energy. A lot of the time it can seem like the front man (or woman) is the only band member with enough charisma to carry themselves appropriately to the audience, but this was proven wrong in the brief minute when Fendrich was off stage, because the other three held our attention perfectly.

Let’s not forget their cover of The Weeknd, which fitted the song perfectly into their genre, and made it seem almost like another one of their flawless originals. All of their set had the crowd moving, and I can only say that I wish that I’d heard of them sooner so I could scream the lyrics back, but alas here we are.

Fancy coming back to the UK soon?

Let’s not forget how genuinely nice they seemed to talk to either. Although I didn’t get a chance to personally talk, due to them being quite the popular attraction stood beside the merchandise table, everybody was saying how talented and genuine they all were. Isn’t that something odd – for somebody to be talented and a decent person? We need more people like you, Hunger. Thinking back on it, I didn’t even get my hands on a free poster.

Damn it.

Anyway, these guys are honestly some of the most talented people I’ve seen for a long time, and I know they’ll go far. Hopefully they don’t make us wait too long for the debut album though, but until then I’ll have the three originals they have on Spotify on repeat.

I don’t think I’ll get bored of them for a long time.

Thank you.

Rhia.

Leave a Reply

